Out of the Vault: New Year Observations – January 5, 2013

- January 15, 2013

Airing Saturday mornings 10 am - 11 am - Hosted by Eric Davis

 Elvis Costello & The Attractions – WAITING FOR THE END OF THE WORLD - The mythical Mayan apocalypse definitely added spice to 2012’s winter solstice. If you want to mark it, or just to see some great art, a good place to do so is the Mexico gallery at the British Museum in London. Here you can see some of the world's greatest Mayan art – which also happens to show why you should not base your life expectancy on the beliefs of this early American civilization.  Taken from the Promo Only release – “Live at the El Macombo”, recorded in 1978.

A3 – WOKE UP THIS MORNING (Chosen One Mix) - A3 frontman Rob Spragg wrote the song after hearing about the 1996 murder case of Sara Thornton, who stabbed her husband after 20 years of abuse, mistreatment and neglect. The song is co-written with Jake Black. Contrary to widespread attribution, Leonard Cohen did not write or perform the piece.   From their 1997 album Exile on Coldharbour Lane.


Shirley & Lee – LET THE GOOD TIMES ROLL - "Let the Good Times Roll" is a song that was recorded by Shirley and Lee in 1956. This song was written by the duo, Shirley Goodman (later Shirley Pixley) and Leonard Lee.  From the soundtrack of the movie Stand By Me, 1986.  It has been recorded by many others including Bunny Sigler, The Righteous Brothers, Delbert McClinton, The Jimi Hendrix Experience, Barbra Streisand, The Searchers, Whiskey Howl, Joe Strummer, Harry Nilsson, Roy Orbison, Conway Twitty, Slade, Freddy Fender, Buckwheat Zydeco, The Animals, Fishbone and most recently in 2008 by George Clinton featuring the Red Hot Chili Peppers and Kim Manning.

Roy Brown – ROCKIN’ AT MIDNIGHT - "Good Rocking Tonight" was originally a jump blues song released in 1947 by its writer, Roy Brown and was covered by many other recording artists. The song includes the memorable refrain, "Well I heard the news, there's good rocking tonight!" The song anticipated elements of rock and roll music.  The song is a primer of sorts on the popular black music of the era, making lyrical reference to Sweet Lorraine, Sioux City Sue, Sweet Georgia Brown, Caldonia, Elder Brown, and Deacon Jones. All of these characters had figured prominently in previous hit songs.  While Brown missed out on the biggest hit version of his song, its success kicked off his own career, which included two #1 R&B hits. In 1949, he released "Rockin' at Midnight", a sequel to "Good Rockin' Tonight." It reached #2 on the R&B chart, where it remained for a month.  The Honeydrippers with Robert Plant & Jeff Beck - Recorded the song under the name "Rockin at Midnight."

 Eric Clapton – AFTER MIDNIGHT - "After Midnight" was written by J. J. Cale, and later successfully covered by Eric Clapton. The laid back boogie feel of "After Midnight" is a prime example of Cale's signature style. Cale had written the song and released a demo version in 1966.  "After Midnight" was also in many ways the catalyst for Cale's own solo recording career. Cale was unaware of Clapton's recording of the song until it became a radio hit in 1970. He recalled to Mojo magazine that when he heard Clapton’s version playing on his radio.  Cale's friend and producer Audie Ashworth then encouraged him to capitalize on the song's success by recording a full album, Naturally, released in 1971. Cale released a live version on the album Live in 2001.  Taken from the 4 CD set “Crossroads” released in 1990.


The Highwaymen – THE ROAD GOES ON FOREVER -- The Road Goes on Forever is an album by American supergroup The Highwaymen – which included Willie Nelson, Kris Kristofferson, Johnny Cash, and Waylon Jennings.  It was first released on April 4, 1995 on Liberty Records, then on November 8, 2005 the album was re-released on Capitol/EMI with bonus tracks and, in some versions, an extra DVD for the album's 10th anniversary. The DVD includes a music video for "It Is What It Is", as well as a short documentary entitled Live Forever - In the Studio with the Highwaymen. This was The Highwaymen's last album prior to Jennings' death in 2002 and Cash's death in 2003.  The title track of this album was written by Robert Earl Keen, Jr. and originally recorded on his 1989 album, West Textures.

Joe Ely – EVERYBODY GOT HAMMERED - Joe Ely (born February 9, 1947, Amarillo, Texas, United States) is an American singer, songwriter and guitarist whose music touches on honky-tonk, Texas Country, Tex-Mex and rock and roll.  He has had a genre-crossing career, performing with Bruce Springsteen, Uncle Tupelo, Los Super Seven, The Chieftains and James McMurtry in addition to his early work with The Clash and more recent acoustic tours with Lyle Lovett, John Hiatt, and Guy Clark.  From the CD “Live at Antone’s”, released in 2000.

The Band – THE SHAPE I’M IN -- "The Shape I'm In" is a song by The Band, first released on their 1970 album Stage Fright. It was written by Robbie Robertson, who did little to disguise the fact that the song's sense of dread and dissolution was about Richard Manuel, ironically the song's principal singer.  It became a regular feature in their concert repertoire, appearing on their live albums Rock of Ages, Before the Flood, and The Last Waltz. Along with "The Weight," it is one of the Band's songs most performed by other artists.  It has been recorded by The Good Brothers, The Mekons, The Pointer Sisters, She & Him, and Marty Stuart


Warren Zevon – DIRTY LIFE & TIMES – From The Wind is the last studio album by Warren Zevon, released in 2003. Zevon began recording the album shortly after he was diagnosed with inoperable pleural mesothelioma (a cancer of the lining of the lung), and it was released just two weeks before his death on September 7, 2003. One of the background singers on this track is Dwight Yoakam.

Blind Faith – CAN’T FIND MY WAY HOME -- "Can't Find My Way Home" is a song written by Steve Winwood, that was first released by Blind Faith on their 1969 album Blind Faith

The Black Crowes – REMEDY - "Remedy" is the second track by The Black Crowes from their second album, The Southern Harmony and Musical Companion. The key riff of the song is lifted from the vocal chant which runs through the first half of Parliament's “Night of The Thumpasorus Peoples” from the 1976 album “Mothership Connection”.


U2 – NEW YEAR’S DAY - "New Year's Day" is a song by U2. It is on their 1983 album War and it was released as the album's lead single in January 1983. Written about the Polish Solidarity movement, "New Year's Day" is driven by Adam Clayton's distinctive bassline and The Edge's keyboard playing.

Samuel L. Jackson – EZEKIEL 25:17 Music from the Motion Picture Pulp Fiction is the soundtrack to Quentin Tarantino's 1994 film Pulp Fiction. No traditional film score was commissioned for Pulp Fiction. The film contains a mix of American rock and roll, surf music, pop and soul. The soundtrack is equally untraditional, consisting of nine songs from the movie, four tracks of dialogue snippets followed by a song, and three tracks of dialogue alone. Seven songs featured in the movie were not included in the original 41-minute soundtrack.